Our Ways – We Have Choices

For my whole life I had fallen into a fallacy that the only way to get medical help was to go to a medical doctor. I was in the group of 99% of American who had the mindset of go to the doctor, get a pill and expect to feel well.

My mom did her best to guide me in the direction of health. When her own health failed my vision began to get cloudy. No longer did I see the health care system as one that could “fix” everything. In 2012 my own health started to diminish. At 44, I had a rheumatologist, neurologist, gastroentrologist, gynecologist, endocrinologist, primary care and psychiatrist! I had 25 prescriptions and a HUGE out of pile of building medical bills. All this and I still felt AWFUL!!! When my doctor said “IT is time you consider disability”, I had a wake up call.

A personality trait of mine is that I DON’T GIVE UP OR GIVE IN easily. So I set my own path to find a way to keep the job I love so much! Alternatives… Western Medicine, acupuncture, supplements, essential oils all available or no clue IF they could help me, how to use them, who could help? So good ‘ole Google became my friend that summer! I stumbled across a company that was not new. I like stability, research, knowledge. So in I jumped! Essential Oils here I come!

18 months later I have 1 medication (synthroid as I have no working thyroid), a primary care and tons of oils! So my new ways are using oils everyday. Helping others discover the benefits for them and FEELING BETTER than I ever have before.

So a fellow blogger posed these questions that go me thinking. I know what I did when traditional medicine did not help? What are your opinions?

Take the challenge here!

https://closetoeighty.wordpress.com/2015/01/10/new-challenge-our-ways/

Should each of us take responsibility for her/his health? How important is fitness, prevention of diseases? Is it necessary to teach children about health? How can we drastically cut number of obese people? How can we cut expenses? Must medical schools teach courses of nutrition, aromatherapy, etc.? Should we rely less on medications?

peppermint

3 thoughts on “Our Ways – We Have Choices

Leave a Reply

